Faces in the Crowd: Thinking About the Past and the Future

5 responses to “Faces in the Crowd: Thinking About the Past and the Future”

  1. Hi! Thank you for sharing your thoughts! I also found this book hard to comprehend and did not quite grasp the whole concept of the novel but as you said it had more modern words so it was a bit easier to read.

    Kritika Singh

    Like

  2. “The young woman is writing about Owen, who is writing about the young woman, who is writing about Owen…it’s just a constant loop.”

    Yes, I’ve seen this described as a möbius strip… a loop that has no inside (or perhaps, no outside). Though equally the relationship between the two narrators might be thought of in terms of mirroring or echoes. Perhaps that’s also because they are each putting something of themselves into their writing, even if or when they are writing about someone else.

    Like

  3. Yes even I found the book confusing, but honestly that just made it more interesting. This is because when I finally figured it out, the book made so much more sense and I appreciated it better.

    Like

  4. Andrew Andrew Avatar
    Andrew Andrew

    Great Post! I agree with you when you said the book was a very confusing read, and as well even after finishing the book and writing the blog post, I still couldn’t totally grasp the idea of it.

    Like

  5. Hi Katie,

    I love reading your blog post and the ideas you expressed! I think its so interesting to believe the young woman seeing Owen while on the train is seeing his ghost instead of it being some sort of time warp where they’re both co-existing.

    Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started