Death with Interruptions: The Importance of Death

3 responses to “Death with Interruptions: The Importance of Death”

  1. Katie, I liked your comparison of Saramago’s and death’s writing being similar (a few of your classmates mentioned it too, I’m wandering where it came from!). Interesting that the character of death is what hooked you more, I think there were a lot of points that drew me in about that. I liked how it contrasted the behaviour she had with the cellist with her being called a serial killer at one point. 

    Thanks for your comment!

    • Tesi

    Like

  2. I really enjoyed your reflection! I also had similar feelings to you about the way the book was written, it made some of the dialogue confusing. As you said above the idea of being immortal -aka absence of death- was exciting at first but then after reflecting on the issues it cause to society in the novel, you realized its importance. I was wondering if death went away, but all those who were sick became healthy, would your opinion change?

    Like

  3. Hi Katie! Here is my answer to  “why do you think death takes on the form of a female woman? What does this add to our understanding of the book?”. My main idea is because women give birth and nurture life. Traditionally, Death has been portrayed as cold and aloof, but by giving Death a female form, Saramago brought emotion and relatability to her, making her a more nuanced and multi-dimensional character.
    Thank you for your comment and question!

    Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started